Kicking off on October 16, the Ensemble Studio Theater launches the 38th one-act play marathon


Off-Broadway News

Kicking off on October 16, the Ensemble Studio Theater launches the 38th one-act play marathon

Mike Lew and Colette Robert curated the festival which features entirely BIPOC artists.

Mike Lew and Colette Robert

Ensemble Studio Theater presents its 38th One-Act Play Marathon starting October 16. Curated by co-artistic directors Mike Lew (teen cock) and Colette Robert (behind the sheet), the 11-piece festival celebrating the work of BIPOC artists runs until November 13.

The Marathon is presented in two series of five plays each on the main stage of the Ensemble Studio Theatre.

Series A features Harron Atkins Still…Vivian JO Barnes’ Introduction TohDominic Colon Prospect Avenue or the bad education of Juni RodriguezCusi Cram’s Los Complicadosand Shannon Tyo Younger fights the possible ghost. The stars of the productions are Catalina Chang, Brenda Crawley, José Espinosa, Daniela Gonzalez y Perez, Ethan Joseph, Denise Manning, Marcus Naylor, Ashley Marie Ortiz (amo), Roudlerson Calvin Pierre, Cristina Pitter, Justin Rodriguez, Deandre Sevon, Mark Vaughn , Ed Ventura, Eric R. Williams, Jo Yang and the voice of William Jackson Harper.

Works featured in Series B include those by Bleu Beckford-Burrell [email protected] Grills (pt1)by Yussef El Guindi brass knucklesby Keiko Green PrepareGoldie E. Patrick’s Breath of Life: A choreography by Black Loveand ak payne blooms. The cast of B series casts include Biko, Ashley Bufkin, David Cork, Sydney Lolita Cusic, Will Dagger, Alisha Espinosa, Fernando Gonzalez, Sarah Nina Hayon, Kai Heath, Kendyl Ito, Margaret Odette, and Monique Robinson.

The 11th piece of the festival, Yan Tutanwill air in collaboration with Perseverance Theater from October 23 to November 13. The cast includes Chloey Kiawk Shaa Cavanaugh, Davina Cole, Ernestine Hayes, Jared Olin, Alfie “Shiggoap” Price, Jamiann S’eiltin, Andrew Tripp and Xáalnook Erin Tripp.

Directors Sivan Battat, Dominic Colón, nicHi Douglas, Chika Ike, Cameron Knight, Rebecca Martinez, Jonathan McCrory, Jess McLeod, Keenan Tyler Oliphant, Erin Tripp and Elizabeth Van Dyke all joined this year’s productions.

This year’s marathon is made up entirely of BIPOC artists, from playwrights and directors to designers and technicians. The biennial festival began in 1977 and has featured works by Horton Foote, Romulus Linney, Christopher Durang, Richard Greenberg, Aaron Sorkin, Julia Cho, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Amy Herzog, Qui Nguyen, Taylor Mac, and more. In 2015, Martyna Majok presented her play Cost of lifewhich won the 2018 Pulitzer Prize. The work began its Broadway premiere September 13 at the Samuel J. Friedman Theater.

For more information, visit


Comments are closed.